All awards are voted on by the members of the Native American Literature Symposium board.

The Beatrice Medicine Award for Scholarship in American Indian Studies 

(Sponsored by the Charles Redd Center for Western Studies

This award will be given for an outstanding essay and/or book. It is open to anybody who has published in Native American Studies for this calendar year, 2019. Previous winners and members of the NALS board are not eligible for the award.

The Electa Quinney Award for Published Stories

(Sponsored by the Electra Quinney Institute for American Indian Education at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee)

This award seeks to highlight the work of story creators who continue the tradition of teaching through narratives often crossing the boundaries of genres, formats and disciplines. To celebrate the dissemination of stories into spaces where they can be shared. All published stories qualify including small press and fine arts printing.

Nominations for the 2020 Beatrice Medicine Awards and the Electa Quinney Award are now open. Please email Margaret Noodin at with full citation information for your nomination.

Deadline: All nominations must be submitted by January 15, 2020.

Past Award Winners

The Beatrice Medicine Award:

2019 – Jenny Davis for her book Talking Indian: Identity and Language Revitalization in the Chickasaw Renaissance (University of Arizona Press, 2018).

Shaawano Chad Uran for his essay “Policing Resource Extraction and Human Rights in The Land of the Dead” (Transmotion 4.1, 2018).

2018 – Elizabeth Hoover for The River Is in Us: Fighting Toxics in a Mohawk Community (University of Minnesota Press, 2017).

Marcia G. Anderson for “A Bag Worth a Pony: The Art of the Ojibwe Bandolier Bag” (St. Paul: Minnesota Historical Society Press, 2017).

2017 – Brandi Nalani McDougall for Finding Meaning: Kaona and Contemporary Hawaiian Literature (University of Arizona Press, 2016).

2016 – Stephanie Fitzgerald for Native Women and Land: Narratives of Dispossession and Resurgence (Albuquerque: University of New Mexico Press, 2015).

Susan Bernardin for “Acorn Soup Is Good Food: L. Frank, News from Native California, and the Intersections of Literary and Visual Arts” (Studies in American Indian Literatures 27.3, 2015).

2015 – Molly McGlennen for Creative Alliances: The Transnational Designs of Indigenous Women’s Poetry (University of Oklahoma Press, 2014).

2013 – Phillip Carroll Morgan for “The Maze of Colonialism: The Byrds of Virginia and Indian Territory” (Journal of Chikasaw History and Culture, Vol. XIII, Number One, Spring 2012).

2012 – Dean Rader for Engaged Resistance: American Indian Art, Literature, and Film from Alcatraz to the NMAI.

2011 – Scott Richard Lyons for “X-Marks: Native Signatures of Assent.”

2010 – Jill Doerfler for “An Anishinaabe Tribalography: Investigating and Interweaving Conceptions of Identity during the 1910s on the White Earth Reservation.”

2009 – Susan A. Miller for “Native America Writes Back: The Origin of the Indigenous Paradigm in Historiography.”

2008 – Jodi Byrd for “Living My Native Life Deadly”: Red Lake, Ward Churchill, and the Discourses of Competing Genocides.”


Past Winners of the Electa Quinney Award:

2019 – Terese Marie Mailhot for her book Heart Berries (Counterpoint Press, 2018).

2018 – Linda LeGarde Grover for the collection of essays, Onigamiising: Seasons of an Ojibwe (University of Minnesota Press, 2017).

2017 – Delphine Red Shirt for George Sword’s Warrior Narratives: Compositional Processes in Lakota Oral Tradition (University of Nebraska Press, 2017)

2016 – Mini Aodla Freeman for the edited collection of stories Life Among the Qallunaat, edited by Keavy Martin, Julie Rak, and Norma Dunning.